Development Cooperation with Azerbaijan

Lithuania, having become a member of the European Union (EU), helps the countries of the Eastern Partnership to seek political association and economic integration with the EU. Good neighborly relations with these countries, also known as the Eastern Partners, and their full support in implementing broad political, economic and social reforms are a coherent priority of Lithuania's foreign policy.

Azerbaijan is one of the six Eastern Partnership countries of the European Union. The Eastern Partnership is an initiative of the European Union, through which the European Union combines its strategic, economic, visa and other relations with its eastern neighbors.

EU - Azerbaijan relations are based on the EU - Azerbaijan Partnership and Cooperation Agreement signed in 1999. The EU is currently negotiating with Azerbaijan a new legally binding agreement.

In 2004-2018, the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the Republic of Lithuania through its Development Cooperation and Democracy Promotion Programme implemented 10 bilateral and 5 regional projects in Azerbaijan costing more than 154 thousand Euro.

Azerbaijan made use of the support of Lithuanian institutions through the EU Twinning Program already for the seventh time. Lithuania has provided expert support with the help of this EU program since 2004 and began by sharing the experience of the parliamentary anti-corruption, later strengthened the radiation protection infrastructure in Azerbaijan and enhanced capabilities of the Department of Tourism at the Ministry of Culture and Tourism. In 2017, two projects were won: supporting the higher education system and implementation of mandatory health insurance system.